RTL ferry service to expand to N, B and R atolls by year-end

  • Maldives
PUBLISHED 30 May 2024

The Raajje Trasport Link (RTL) ferry service will be launched in Noonu, Raa, and Baa atoll before the end of this year.

Speaking to the media today, Transport Minister Mohamed Ameen said RTL services will extend to Noonu atoll in June, Raa atoll in August, and Baa atoll in September.

Minister Ameen emphasized the significance of the RTL ferry service for the public and noted that changes will be made to some existing routes based on passenger statistics. Adjustments to certain ferry stops have already been implemented he said.

The RTL ferry service, initiated on June 12, 2022, during former President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih’s administration, aims to enhance connectivity across the Maldives. The national ferry system operates through commute links, non-commute links, and highway links.

Commute links are daily trips between nearby islands, while non-commute links are journeys between two islands that are a bit farther apart in distance. This includes non-daily airport trips and business trips. Highway links are long journeys that connect the transport hub of one region to the transport hub of another.

The division of zones under RTL:

Zone One: Ha. | HDh. | Sh.
Zone Two: N. | R. | B. | Lh.
Zone Three: K. | Aa. | ADh. | V.
Zone Four: M. | F. | Dh. | Th. | L.
Zone Five: Ga. | GDh.
Zone Six: Fuvahmulah | Addu City

Presently, the ferry services are available in Zone 1, Zone 2, Zone 5, and Zone 6.